I was listening to a speaker recently who mentioned that we live in a world which offers unlimited information but that extra information doesn’t afforded us any extra meaning.

His pitch was that there is a breadth of  experience to be had at our fingertips and that’s the problem – it’s only at your fingertips. It doesn’t have any depth. It’s a puddle we run through on the way to another puddle rather than an ocean that we can immerse ourselves in.

We used to read books then we started reading the Cliff notes on a book. Now if something is over 140 characters or 2 minutes in length then we can’t be bothered because we’re convinced that there’s something else amazing around the corner waiting to capture our attention (and there usually is).

There’s something to his idea. I find myself craving focus, meaning, a through line for everything I see in a day. I see a lot of stuff but I don’t walk around thinking I know very much.

But maybe that’s just old hat too.  Maybe meaning hasn’t been lost. Maybe, like information, meaning is just changing. How things come to mean anything is evolving.

This video skips across a lake of experience and images, touching down just long enough for a glimpse but it creates a great story and… well… it meant something to me.

WORDS, posted with vodpod
