Welcome to new feature on Wakkanew.

Each week we’ll be bringing you a science experiment. I’m not big on boring so each of our featured science experiments must meet rigorous requirements:

1) The experiment must be killer, sick, wicked, awesome.

2) The experiment must be really, really… whatever the next word they invent for cool is (my vote is for “sauce” but that is another post)

On with the show.

This week’s experiment comes from Valérie, an awesome D.O.P I worked with years ago. She told me about this, I thought she was nuts, five years later I remembered it, checked it out and was so amazed that I wrote it into an episode of Degrassi last year.

Enough preamble. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the Electric Pickle (explanation follows):

Explanation (in terms I can understand): pickles have lots of sodium. Sodium lights up when it gets excited. Electricity excites sodium. The end.

If you passed grade 11 science (unlike me) here’s a more in depth explanation.

Of course if you’re looking to amp up your electric pickle experience then you just need to swap your pickle for a watermelon and connect it to a massive current.

Which would look like this:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

N.B. Don’t try to replicate these experiments, hurt yourself and sue us – we don’t advise any of the above.

