It’s been a while since the electric pickle so here are some more goodies courtesy the science of awesome.

Back in high school, before I dropped all my science courses, I learned that all matter doesn’t just come in the form of solids, liquids, and gases.

And then I was all like, “Who cares, man? I don’t need to learn this crap. What’s it gonna matter? Lets skip class and smoke butts.”

Skipping class and smoking butts was a far more important discipline to master than chemistry.

If only I had stuck around for the stuff about non-Newtonian fluids.

Here’s the really short explanation: Non-Newtonian fluids aren’t quite liquids and they aren’t quite solids (blood is one of them).

I know, I know. “Who cares, man?”

You will once you watch this dude basically walk on water:

Cool – but when are you going to have half a ton of cornstarch to dump in your neighbor’s pool while they’re away on vacation?

It also has useful applications. A material called D3O (created by a company with the same name) has been introduced with practical applications that include everything from ballet shoes to body armor.

More info (and throw-your-iPod-against-a-wall-and-then-off-a-building-goodness) in this video:

(via NotCot)

